Hit Counter by http://yizhantech.com/
Table Of Contents

News Articles From 1931

Daily Star October 28, 1931


New Officers of Greenpoint Post Installed
By Kings County Commander of the Legion;
’40 and 8′ Team Confers Degree on Many


Joseph Kuhl Takes Reins of
Local Legionnaires and
Promises Activity.


Greenpoint Post 241, American Legion, and the Greenpoint Post Ladies Memorial Association held a joint installation of officers on Wednesday evening In the Alpha Club Building: 139 Nassau Avenue.

Joseph Kuhl was installed as commander of the post, and he has laid out a program of work for the coming year, which promises much activity for Greenpoint Legionnaires. A large class of new members had the degree of the legion conferred upon them by the Kings County 40 and 8 degree team.


Kings County Commander Francis P. Dumphy installed the new officers of the post and Past County Commander James J. Johnson installed the women officers. There was dancing after the ceremonies and refreshments served, many public officials witnessed the Installation, including Peter J. McGuiness, James A. McQuade, John C. Maher, Alderman Farrar, Assemblyman Doyle, Justices MacCrate, Bogenschutz and Carroll.


Greenpoint Post starts its new year off with Commander Joseph A. Kuhl in the chair and according to past performances of Joe Kuhl he will keep the post on the go throughout his entire term of office.


The first activity of the new commander is the 1931 Legion Parada, which will be held at St. Alphonsus’ Auditorium on the evening of November 17, 18, 19, 20 and 31. Charles Eddy Is in charge of the production.


The officers installed are:


Joseph A. Kuhl, commander; William Junger, first vice-commander; William D’Amato, second vice-com­mander; Joseph Bonomo, third vice-commander; Lawrence Marsillia, adjutant; William Rowen, finance officer; William Kopenhoefer, sergeant-at-arms; William Weber, chaplain; Peter Plata, County delegate and John J. Ward, alternate.


On the executive committee are: William Krogg John J. Ward, George Welch, William McKinley, Peter Plata, Robert Gow, Henry C. Walheman, Samuel Mormino and Michael Czarneta.


The officers of the Greenpoint Post Memorial Association are: Mrs. Emily Halliday, president; Mrs. Elisabeth Thompson, first vice-president; president; Mrs. Mary De Sota, second vice-president Miss Margaret O’Connor, treasurer; Mrs. Anna Smith, recording secretary; Mrs. Minnie Erhardt, financial secretary; Mrs. Sadie Jochel, corresponding secretary; Mrs. Ella Andrews, sergeant-at-arms, and Mrs. Rose Dawson, publicity.